Continue to content

Pre-eyckian panel paintings in the Low Countries

Catalogue & Essays

Author(s)
C. Stroo (ed.)
Details
ISBN 978-2-87033-014-2
2009, Centre for the Study of the Flemish Primitives, 728 p., 2 vol.
Available in English
Serie: Contributions
9
Price
€ 60
PF CONTRIB 09

Surviving pre-Eyckian panel painting of around 1400 is in short supply, but more remains than was thought. At present the list of works to be studied includes some thirty objects in collections in Belgium and elsewhere.

In the first volume ten objects, which in fact constitute the majority of pre-Eyckian works in Belgian collections, are documented as thoroughly as possible. Their interpretation is underpinned not only by classic art historical analysis but also by macro-photography, X-radiography, infrared photography and reflectography, dendrochronological data and, in so far as was feasible or justifiable, laboratory analysis of pigments and binding media. The research has benefited to the full from the expertise of the many specialists of the KIK-IRPA.

In volume two of this publication are a number of individual contributions by ‘guest authors’. They cover diverse topics, ranging from specific technical observations regarding one noteworthy feature or group of works, to historical context, peripheral iconographic phenomena, aspects of restoration, and the exploration of Ghent’s archives by way of a case study.

This excellent publication, although still incomplete, offers a very useful starting point

Jan Piet Filedt Kok (in The Burlington Magazine, CLII, February 2010)
Want to know more about this publication or project? Please contact us:
Show email

More publications of KIK-IRPA

SA4 min

Autour de la Madeleine Renders

D. Vanwijnsberghe (ed.) (2008)
€ 30
Scientia Artis
4
More details
SA16

Made in Malines

F. Cayron & D. Steyaert (2019)
€ 48
Scientia Artis
16
More details

Continuer vers le contenu

Pre-eyckian panel paintings in the Low Countries

Catalogue & Essays

Auteur(s)
C. Stroo (dir.)
D. Deneffe, F. Peters, W. Fremout, J. Sanyova, S. Saverwyns, C. Currie, L. Depuydt-Elbaum, P. Fraiture, B. Baert, E. Dhanens, I. Geelen, D. Steyaert & V.M. Schmidt
Détails
ISBN 978-2-87033-014-2
2009, Centre d’étude des Primitifs flamands, 728 p., 2 vol.
Disponible en anglais
Collection : Contributions
9
Prix
€ 60
PF CONTRIB 09

Les peintures sur panneaux pré-eyckiens datant des années 1400 sont extrêmement rares, mais il nous en est parvenu plus que nous ne le croyions. Actuellement, la liste des œuvres à étudier comprend une trentaine d'objets provenant de collections en Belgique et de l'étranger.

Dans la première partie de cette publication, dix objets sont documentés en détail. Ils constituent la majorité des œuvres pré-eyckiennes conservées dans les collections belges. Leur analyse est étayée non seulement par des études d'histoire de l'art, mais aussi par la macro-photographie, la radiographie, la photographie infrarouge et la réflectographie, les données dendrochronologiques et, dans la mesure du possible, les analyses de laboratoire des pigments et des liants. La recherche a pleinement bénéficié de l'expertise des nombreux spécialistes de l’IRPA.

La deuxième partie contient un certain nombre de contributions individuelles d'auteurs invités. Ils traitent de sujets divers, allant de considérations techniques spécifiques sur un élément ou un groupe d'œuvres remarquables, au contexte historique, aux phénomènes iconographiques, aux aspects de la restauration et à l'exploration des archives de Gand.

L'expérience et le savoir-faire des auteurs conjugués à la particularité du corpus d'oeuvres étudiées garantissent à la fois la richesse et la pertinence des informations.

Sophie Moreaux (in CeROArt, 4, 2009)
Plus d'infos sur cette publication ou ce projet? Contactez-nous :
Voir l'adresse e-mail

D'autres publications de l'IRPA

Bulletin21 NL WEB

Bulletin 21 NL | 1986-1987

ISSN 0085-1892, 1988
€ 6
Bulletin
21
Voir les détails
Bulletin12 WEB

Bulletin 12 | 1970

ISSN 0085-1892, 1970
€ 6
Bulletin
12
Voir les détails