Continue to content

Imitation and Illusion

Applied Brocade in the Art of the Low Countries in the Fifteenth and Sixteenth Centuries

Author(s)
I. Geelen & D. Steyaert
With contributions by W. Wailliez, J. Sanyova, S. Saverwyns, C. Glaude & E. Ravaud
Details
ISBN 978-2-930054-11-7
2011, KIK-IRPA, 660 p.
Available in English
6
Price
€ 80
Also for sale at the KIK-IRPA’s reception desk

An in-depth examination of applied brocades in the art of the Low Countries (1420-1540)

In the late Middle Ages luxurious textiles were among the most highly prized indicators of status and wealth and an essential requirement of prestigious secular and ecclesiastical life. The depiction of these sumptuous silks and gold brocades was a crucial element in the visual arts, and their realistic and recognizable representation was a challenge to every artist. Painters and polychromers strove to imitate the fashionable fabrics by using applied brocade, a highly sophisticated form of relief decoration that adhered to panel paintings, murals and sculpture and through the play of light and shadow evoked the dazzling illusion of gold-brocaded cloths.

Imitation and Illusion is the result of a detailed study of applied brocade in the art of the Low Countries. Eleven fascinating and innovative chapters offer an in-depth examination of the historical, geographical, morphological and technical aspects of this cast tin relief technique. New light is also shed on artistic collaboration and workshop practice in the fifteenth and early sixteenth century.


Catalogue of more than 80 works

The catalogue includes 86 well known and lesser known panel and wall paintings, sculptures, altarpieces, and architectural elements produced between 1420 and 1540, decorated with applied brocade and providing stunning testimony to the visual variety and material magnificence of late-medieval art.

Abundantly illustrated, Imitation and Illusion investigates the artistic production of the fifteenth- and sixteenth-century Low Countries from an intriguing and original perspective. It represents a significant contribution to our understanding of medieval polychromy and will appeal to everyone whose curiosity is aroused by the illusionistic ingenuity of the medieval artist.


Una referencia obligada para todos los conservadores, historiadores y amantes del arte bajomedieval

J. Muñiz Petralanda (Ars Bilduma, 2 | 2012)
Want to know more about this publication or project? Please contact us:
Show email

More publications of KIK-IRPA

PF CONTRIB 01

De Oorspronkelijke plaats van het Lam Gods-retabel

A. De Schryver & R. Marijnissen (1952)
out of stock
Contributions
1
More details
Bulletin7 WEB

Bulletin 7 | 1964

ISSN 0085-1892, 1964
Out of stock
Bulletin
7
More details

Continuer vers le contenu

Imitation and Illusion

Applied Brocade in the Art of the Low Countries in the Fifteenth and Sixteenth Centuries

Auteur(s)
I. Geelen & D. Steyaert
Avec les contributions de W. Wailliez, J. Sanyova, S. Saverwyns, C. Glaude & E. Ravaud
Détails
ISBN 978-2-930054-11-7
2011, IRPA, 660 p.
Disponible en anglais
Collection : Scientia Artis
6
Prix
€ 80
En vente aussi à l'accueil de l'IRPA

Examen approfondi sur les brocarts appliqués dans l'art des Pays-Bas méridionaux (1420-1540)

À la fin du Moyen Âge, les textiles de luxe deviennent les témoins les plus précieux du statut et de la richesse, et une condition essentielle de prestige, tant dans la vie séculaire qu’ecclésiastique. La représentation de ces somptueuses soieries et ces brocarts d’or est ainsi devenu un enjeu crucial de l’art, et leur représentation réaliste et reconnaissable, un défi pour chaque artiste. Peintres et polychromeurs se sont efforcés d’imiter les tissus à la mode en utilisant des brocarts appliqués, une forme très sophistiquée de décoration en relief qui adhère aux peintures sur panneau, aux peintures murales et aux sculptures, et qui donne, à travers un jeu de lumière et d’ombre, l’incroyable illusion de vêtements ornés de brocarts d’or.

Imitation and Illusion est le résultat d’une étude détaillée des brocarts appliqués dans l’art des Pays-Bas méridionaux. 11 chapitres fascinants et novateurs offrent un examen approfondi des aspects historiques, géographiques, morphologiques et techniques de cette technique en relief. L’ouvrage jette également un éclairage nouveau sur la collaboration artistique et les pratiques d’atelier au XVe et au début du XVIe siècle.

Catalogue de plus de 80 œuvres

Le catalogue présente 86 œuvres connues ou méconnues, peintures sur panneau et peintures murales, sculptures, retables et éléments architecturaux produits entre 1420 et 1540 et ornés de brocarts appliqués. Un témoignage stupéfiant de la variété visuelle et de la magnificence matérielle de l’art de la fin du Moyen Âge.

Abondamment illustré, Imitation and Illusion étudie, depuis une perspective originale et fascinante, la production artistique des XVe et XVIe siècles dans les Pays-Bas méridionaux. Apport important pour notre compréhension de la polychromie médiévale, il est à mettre entre les mains de tous ceux que les talents illusionnistes des artistes médiévaux intriguent !

Una referencia obligada para todos los conservadores, historiadores y amantes del arte bajomedieval

J. Muñiz Petralanda (Ars Bilduma, 2 | 2012)
Plus d'infos sur cette publication ou ce projet? Contactez-nous :
Voir l'adresse e-mail

D'autres publications de l'IRPA

PF CONTRIB 08

Early Netherlandish Painting (1400-1500)

H. Mund & C. Stroo (dir.) (1998)
€ 20
Contributions
8
Voir les détails
SA12 min

Between Carpentry and Joinery

P. Fraiture, P. Charruadas, P. Gautier, M. Piavaux & P. Sosnowska (dir.) (2016)
€ 45
Scientia Artis
12
Voir les détails