Continue to content

The Bruegel Success Story

Papers Presented at Symposium XXI for the Study of Underdrawing and Technology in Painting, Brussels, 12-14 September 2018

Author(s)
C. Currie (ed.)
with the collaboration of D. Allart, B. Fransen, C. Stroo & D. Vanwijnsberghe
with contributions by L. Huet, S. Saverwyns, L. Depuydt-Elbaum, P. Fraiture, J.-A. Glatigny, A. Coudray, S. Brink, V. Bücken, A.H. Christensen, E. de la Fuente Pedersen, A. Daly, D. Buti, G. Pastorelli, J. Wadum, Y. Mori, Y.-F. You, E. Hanspach-Bernal, C. Bisulca, A. Steele, M. Postec, E.A. Honig, U. Neidhardt, M. Neumeister, E. Ortner, J. Schmidt, A. Orrock, L. Silver, E.M. Kavaler, A. Born, L. Campbell, H. Cuvelier, J.L. Edwards, P. Le Chanu, P. Maclot, T.L. Meganck, J. Muylle, D. van Heesch, I. Moortgat, L. Watteeuw, M. Van Bos, J. Van Grieken, M. Bassens, B. Vandermeulen, H. Hameeuw & G. Vandendriessche
Details
ISBN 9789042943322
2021, Peeters, 550 p.
Available in English
Serie: Underdrawing and Technology in Painting
21
Price
€ 125
Also available at the KIK-IRPA's reception desk
Bruegel Success

Yet another book on Bruegel?

This new collection of essays promises to be different. It takes a fresh look at some of Bruegel’s best-loved works, as well as those of his sons, contemporaries and followers.

The authors play detective, tracking down clues gleaned from scientific imagery, archival sources and close-up viewing. The revealing of a signature in the oil sketch of the Strife between Carnival and Lent, the discovery of the true date of the Dulle Griet and a unexpected watermark in a drawing of the latter painting resolve old questions and raise new ones. But ‘close viewing’ also implies the search for seemingly insignificant details that can identify the owners of these works, as in the Census at Bethlehem, and technical and compositional clues that shed light on the question of authenticity, as in Bruegel’s famous ‘tuchlein’, the Adoration of the Magi. These approaches rely on the quality of the visual evidence and in this respect the book steps up to the mark with its rich illustrations.

The Bruegel Success Story international conference at the Royal Museums of Fine Arts in Brussels in September 2018 was the stage for the first presentation of the ideas behind the essays in the book. There is a rich diversity of themes, which range from the making, meaning, copying and emulating the art of Pieter Bruegel the Elder to the Bruegel network and legacy.

The book also includes Belgian psychologist Gaston Vandendriessche’s († 2002) fascinating essay on the Dulle Griet, never published before, which gives a radical interpretation of its mysterious and somewhat disturbing iconography.

Want to know more about this publication or project? Please contact us:
Show email

More publications of KIK-IRPA

PF CORPUS 16

Le musée national d'Art ancien et le Musée national des Carreaux de Faïence de Lisbonne

M.-L. Lievens-De Waegh (1991)
uitgeput
Corpus
16
More details
Couverture

Patrimoines en mouvement

C. Marchant (coord.) (2019)
€ 25
Other
More details

Continuer vers le contenu

The Bruegel Success Story

Papers Presented at Symposium XXI for the Study of Underdrawing and Technology in Painting, Brussels, 12-14 September 2018

Auteur(s)
C. Currie (dir.)
Avec la collaboration de D. Allart, B. Fransen, C. Stroo & D. Vanwijnsberghe
Avec des contributions de L. Huet, S. Saverwyns, L. Depuydt-Elbaum, P. Fraiture, J.-A. Glatigny, A. Coudray, S. Brink, V. Bücken, A.H. Christensen, E. de la Fuente Pedersen, A. Daly, D. Buti, G. Pastorelli, J. Wadum, Y. Mori, Y.-F. You, E. Hanspach-Bernal, C. Bisulca, A. Steele, M. Postec, E.A. Honig, U. Neidhardt, M. Neumeister, E. Ortner, J. Schmidt, A. Orrock, L. Silver, E.M. Kavaler, A. Born, L. Campbell, H. Cuvelier, J.L. Edwards, P. Le Chanu, P. Maclot, T.L. Meganck, J. Muylle, D. van Heesch, I. Moortgat, L. Watteeuw, M. Van Bos, J. Van Grieken, M. Bassens, B. Vandermeulen, H. Hameeuw & G. Vandendriessche
Détails
ISBN 9789042943322
2021, Peeters, 550 p.
Disponible en anglais
Collection : Le dessin sous-jacent dans la peinture
21
Prix
€ 125
En vente aussi à l'accueil de l'IRPA

Encore un livre sur Bruegel ?

Oui, mais celui-ci n’a rien à voir avec les précédents : il jette un regard neuf sur certaines des œuvres les plus prisées de Bruegel, ainsi que sur celles de ses fils, de ses contemporains et de ses disciples.

Les auteurs jouent au détective, traquant les indices glanés dans l’imagerie scientifique, les sources d’archives et les examens visuels approfondis. Une signature dans l’esquisse à l’huile du Combat de Carnaval et Carême, un filigrane inattendu dans un dessin de Margot la Folle ou même la date réelle de ce tableau : autant de découvertes qui permettent de résoudre d’anciennes questions et qui ouvrent de nouvelles pistes. L’examen visuel approfondi a permis aussi de retrouver des détails, en apparence insignifiants mais qui permettent d’identifier les propriétaires de ces œuvres, comme dans Le Dénombrement de Bethléem, ainsi que des indices techniques et de composition qui apportent un éclairage sur la question de l’authenticité, comme pour le célèbre tüchlein de Bruegel, L’Adoration des mages. L’étude s’étant basée sur la qualité des preuves visuelles, ce livre se distingue par ses riches illustrations.

Les idées publiées dans ce livre ont été présentées pour la première fois lors du symposium international Bruegel Success Story organisé en 2018 aux Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles. Les thèmes abordés sont très variés, allant de la création, l’interprétation, la copie et l’émulation de l’art de Pieter Bruegel l’Ancien au réseau et à l’héritage du peintre.

Ce livre contient également l’essai fascinant et inédit du psychologue belge Gaston Vandendriessche’s († 2002) sur Margot la Folle, qui donne une interprétation radicale de son iconographie mystérieuse et quelque peu troublante.

It is perhaps the most beautifully illustrated Bruegel monograph based on conference papers that I’ve ever seen. Many of the Bruegel paintings reproduced in the monograph were recently cleaned and restored, which the monograph fully captures with large, rich illustrations

Plus d'infos sur cette publication ou ce projet? Contactez-nous :
Voir l'adresse e-mail

D'autres publications de l'IRPA

PF CORPUS 6

La Chapelle royale de Grenade

R. Van Schoute (1963)
épuisé
Corpus
6
Voir les détails
PF CORPUS 10

La Cathédrale de Palencia

I. Vandevivere (1967)
€ 25
Corpus
10
Voir les détails