Continue to content

Ancient glass

Principles of conservation, display and maintenance

Author(s)
C. Fontaine-Hodiamont
Details
ISBN 978-2-930054-32-2
2019, KIK-IRPA, 28 p.
Available in Dutch, French, English
Serie: Other
Price
€ 5
Also for sale at the KIK-IRPA’s reception desk

Some rules for good conduct

This revised and augmented version, entitled Ancient glass: principles of conservation, display and maintenance, forms part of the vast field of preventive conservation. The book is aimed at everyone with an interest in ancient glass, both professionals and amateurs (conservators, technicians, collectors, archaeologists, students etc.).

Vademecum Glass brings together the rules for good conduct and common sense. It is also designed to enable beginners to start out in the world of glass and changes to its status, teaching them to have a “trained eye” and detect certain anomalies. It reminds archaeologists of the movements that save glass and of good questions to ask themselves. The book also establishes limits to intervention: there are some cases in which only a specialist, a qualified restorer, can intervene.

The publication includes a wide range of specific cases, illustrated and commented. It is a synthesis of what has been found or treated at the glass conservation-restoration workshop at the KIK-IRPA for over forty years now.

Want to know more about this publication or project? Please contact us:
Show email

More publications of KIK-IRPA

Bulletin16 WEB

Bulletin 16 | 1976-1977

ISSN 0085-1892, 1977
€ 6
Bulletin
16
More details
PF CORPUS 1nl

Groeningemuseum, Brugge

A. Janssens de Bisthoven (1981)
€ 25
Corpus
1
More details

Continuer vers le contenu

Le verre ancien

Principes de conservation, d’exposition et d’entretien

Auteur(s)
C. Fontaine-Hodiamont
Détails
ISBN 978-2-930054-31-5
2019, IRPA, 28 p.
Disponible en néerlandais, français, anglais
Collection : Autre
Prix
€ 5
En vente aussi à l’accueil de l’IRPA

Quelques règles de bonne conduite

Cette version revue et augmentée du Vade-mecum Verre s’inscrit dans le vaste champ de la conservation préventive. Elle s’adresse à tous ceux qui s’intéressent aux verres anciens, professionnels et amateurs (conservateur, restaurateur, préparateur, collectionneur, archéologue, étudiant…).

Ce livre rassemble des règles de bonne conduite et de bon sens. Il a aussi été conçu pour permettre au néophyte de s’initier au matériau verre et aux modifications de son état, pour l’amener à « avoir l’œil » et à détecter certaines anomalies. Aux archéologues, il rappelle les gestes qui sauvent et les bonnes questions à se poser. Il établit aussi des limites dans l’intervention : il y a des cas où seul un spécialiste, un restaurateur diplômé, peut intervenir.

Cette publication présente un large éventail de cas concrets, illustrés et commentés. Elle constitue une synthèse de ce qui a été rencontré ou traité à l’atelier de conservation-restauration des verres de l’IRPA depuis une quarantaine d’années.

Plus d'infos sur cette publication ou ce projet ? Contactez-nous :
Voir l'adresse e-mail

D'autres publications de l'IRPA

PF REPERTOIRE 6

Collections publiques de Liège

D. Allart (2008)
€ 40
Repertoire
6
Voir les détails
Beeldhouwkunst

Beeldhouwkunst in de Premonstratenzerabdij van Averbode

J. Jansen, H. Janssens (1999)
Voir les détails